

CHESAPEAKE BEACH ETHICS COMMISSION

## MINUTES OF THE CHESAPEAKE BEACH ETHICS COMMISSION May 31, 2019

<b>Commission Members Present:</b>	Phillip Kete, Chair
	Ingrid Lamb
	Michael Linsenbigler

Staff Members Present:Sharon L. Humm, Town ClerkFrederick Sussman, Counsel

The meeting convened at 1:05 p.m. at the Chesapeake Beach Town Hall at 8200 Bayside Road, Chesapeake Beach, MD. Those listed as present participated in all portions of the meeting unless otherwise noted. If other individuals participated in aspects of the meeting, they will be identified in the specific line item where their participation occurred.

Item 1:	Approval of the minutes of the May 6, 2019 Ethics Commission meeting.	
Discussion:	The draft minutes of the May 6, 2019 Ethics Commission meeting were presented.	
Decision:	The Commission unanimously approved the May 6, 2019 minutes.	
ltem 2:	Public comments on agenda items, including suggestions of additional items for consideration. None received.	
Item 3:	Discussion of any pending request for an advisory opinion.	
<u>Discussion</u> :	Chair Kete stated a Councilman whom had requested an advisory opinion was not present today and was not present at the May 6 <sup>th</sup> meeting.	
Decision:	This item was postponed.	
Item 4:	Review financial disclosures, and determine what further actions, if any, need to be taken.	
Discussion:	Mr. Kete reported, according to the Commission's Rules of Procedure, all financial disclosure statements are to be signed by the Commission members once reviewed and then a vote of approval taken.	
Decision:	The following financial disclosure statements of non-officials were reviewed, signed, and unanimously approved:	

James Berry	Jeffery Foltz	Warren LaHeist	Doris Spencer
Larry W. Brown	Randall Getman	Ingrid K. Lamb	Susan Stebbing
Jon Castro	Emily Grace	Elissa Levan	Frederick Sussman
Dale Clark	Robert Gray	Mike Linsenbigler	Marilyn VanWagner
James Dickerson	Cynthia Greengold	Tim McCoy	Holly Wahl
Mary Catherine Diggle	Sharon Humm	Connie S. O'Dell	Nebuchuel Walker
Mary Catherine Diggle	Sharon Humm	Connie S. O'Dell	Nebuchuel Walker
David Ferguson	Christopher Jakubiak	Charles S. Ruttkay	Randy Wilkerson
Lawrence Charles Fink	Phillip R. Kete	David Sarbacher	Paul Woodburn

- <u>Discussion</u>: The Commission reviewed and discussed the financial disclosure statements of the Elected Officials. Chairman Kete reported that at its May 6<sup>th</sup> meeting it was noted that one of the statements did not contain the same information as in the previous year. The member was notified, and the Official submitted amended/revised forms. In addition, two other Elected Officials were awarded a gift from an organization that received a grant from the Town thus appearing as a possible conflict of interest.
- <u>Decision:</u> The following financial disclosure statements of Elected Officials were reviewed, signed and unanimously approved:

1) Derek Favret, 2) Larry Jaworski, 3) Patrick Mahoney, and 4) Gregory Morris.

In regards to the unapproved statements, the filers will be notified of the concern/deficiency requesting a response. Responses will be reviewed at the Commission's next meeting.

- Item 6: Discuss possible changes to process for reviewing financial disclosures.
- <u>Discussion:</u> In reviewing <u>Section IV-Review of Financial Disclosure Forms</u> of the Ethics Commission's Rules of Procedure, the Commission discussed changes needed to better its procedure in reviewing financial disclosure forms.
- <u>Decision:</u> Chairman Kete will prepare a draft incorporating recommendations for <u>Section IV-Review</u> of <u>Financial Disclosure Forms</u> for the Commission's review and comments.
- Item 7:Comments by Commissioners and members of the public.<br/>Chairman Kete informed the Commission that the Town had received a letter dated April<br/>30, 2019 from the State Ethics Commission stating its approval of the submitted proposed<br/>changes to the Town's Ethics Ordinance.
- Item 8: Scheduling of next meeting. The Commission will meet again on June 28, 2019 at 1 pm.

The meeting adjourned at 2:09 p.m.

Submitted by:

J. Hum

Sharon L. Humm, Town Clerk